If God’s Words are a Metaphor, surely ‘Imagine’ is also

Standard

john-lennon-imagine-poster-ph0261

By @ShaunyGibson – Used to be @ ShaunyNews

Imagine by John Lennon is a song that will stand the test of time, no argument, it is a masterpiece. One thing that I struggle with is when people say “Why would we want no Heaven and no religion too” I don’t think this was what John was actually meaning, he sang for world peace and like Bob Marley, JFK and his Brother, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King and many more who came with the same message, they were killed, or shot, every time someone with a message of Hope and Peace comes along they get killed. Jesus, the good book tells us came to Earth, he was killed, if Jesus came again, I truly believe we would kill him again. Satan runs this blue globe, we just have people who believe in God and too many Religions

There are some lyrics in his song people are offende at. NOW, When I ask a religious person who live by their chosen book about say, Noah’s Ark, we know the story is not entirely true, but there may be truth somewhere in the story, two of every Animal on a boat today would be impossible. I get told “Shaun it’s a metaphor” People dislike that line “Imagine there’s no heaven” but look right over many other lines in the song “Imagine all the people living life in peace” There are other lyrics in the song that just ask for what many want, but sadly many deny themselves and everyone else through religion. I mean two Kangaroo’s, two Elephant’s, think where the location is, we all know the ‘Noah’s Arc’ Story is impossible, even today it’s impossible, so it’s a ‘Metaphor’ Same as “Imagine there’s no Heaven”

806-in-the-begining-man-made-god-2475 religion_must_die_for_humanity_to_live_by_baybee_snayx-d5sovmr

So when people say to me “I don’t like Imagine, why would we want no heaven” I don’t get offended I get confused, not to the stage I want to cry 😀 But I see God as the way, religion was man made, so is flawed. John Lennon believed in God then stopped, he is quoted many times saying religion poisoned his soul, there is a song below, he wanted love and peace, his message was simple, his song’s a metaphor. But when he sang “Imagine there’s no Heaven or religion” REALLY, think, imagine there was not, nor religion, would the World not be a better place? His song was a metaphor, we can’t have our cake and eat it, I ask if the fear of Death makes people add religion to their lives. John also said “We measure God through our Pain” 

All I know is, for me and what I see, people turn to God in times of trouble, I do also, but I also thank God when things are going good, how many don’t do this. My mother told me “Never talk Religion or Politics” Well sadly I am very opinionated and in this blog I cover both subjects. I dislike the fact we can’t talk religion on the presumption it WILL cause an argument, if that is so, then am I right? I am asking here, I mean to offend nobody, my big ‘ol brain just got turning on this one

Religion is not the problem I said it a few blogs ago, people are. I was playing this song earlier and I remember I put it on my Song of the day once and got abuse for it, yeah abuse from religious god loving people

John isn’t saying “Imagine there is no God” IT IS A METAPHOR, he is singing about a World of peace. The exact same metaphor as most if not all of the bible, stories with a truth behind them. We can’t know the bible is true, we can only have faith in its words. If anyone can show me every word is true, bring it on. But I don’t need words to love MY God, same God you love, and to pray every day

Just Imagine a life, a world with no religion, just people loving God, now would that not be good? Also Lawyers and CEO’s, but that is another blog.  I truly believe people who dislike Imagine need to educate themselves on the meaning of the song. I ask MANY questions from many people about God and the Bible and am told “It’s a Metaphor” Also the peace sign, it’s NOT Jesus upside down on the cross, it means Nuclear disarmament People must educate themselves away from a book, I can prove this but many will believe as they do anyway, like the woman I spoke to who didn’t believe in dinosaurs http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peace_symbols

Many times people have unfollowed me for saying these things, I think these people bring my blog to be true. To dislike someone for asking a question, well they were never a friend. If you have faith and believe every Word of your book, I respect that, but open your mind, just for a second and think away from that book. There is a saying here in Scotland “Never trust anyone with one Book” The joke I believe is or was aimed at Islam, again I have no problems with Islam, just the fundamentalists, but we have Christian fundamentalists in the Westboro Baptist Church.

frz7So I ask, if people who hate all Muslims due to fundamentalists are for real, then should everyone hate all Christians because of Westboro Baptist Church. I am asking a question and I would appreciate ADULTS debate. I may even learn something. I also can’t get my mind around people who want to talk about Gay Marriage and Abortion when the World is on the brink of war! STOP FIGHTING OVER WHO MADE THE WORLD AND US AND COME TOGETHER ON WHO IS KILLING IT AND US!! 

JFK was our last hope, our last chance. nobody will come again, he warned us and as you all know, he died 6 days after this speech

I did a blog in my old blog Prayingforoneday and someone, a woman I called a friend said “You can’t ask that, it’s stupid” then unfollowed me. This is a woman of God, but sadly her religion made her hate. I ask, do you think  religion makes people hate? There are over 5,000 religions on Earth, why is this? So many branches coming off the same tree of life and all throwing stones at each other

God I love and pray to every day, religion causes so many issues, but it’s the people in religion who hate over 1 song for example.

It’s easy if you try, to just love and not push people away from Church’s, as many do

This was no rant, this was me writing in the hope of debate and as I say, I may learn something new

Should any religious person get angry at me, you are proving my point 

I know I am right, but so do you, and there is our problem

More love, less hate

Shaun

Imagine_colors

Sung by the World:
Via Playing For Change You Tube

~~
Join Ace News Facebook pages: https://www.facebook.com/groups/acenewsservices/
ShaunyNews: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Shaunynews/
Living With Fibromyalgia: https://www.facebook.com/groups/699321140156812/
Celtic FC: http://thecelticnetwork.co.uk/
~~

2 responses

  1. I think we need churches, i’ve always felt closer to god there. Its difficult to trust muslims, maybe they are a bit behind us, wasnt to long ago that catholics wouldnt associate with protestants and vice a versa. I dont know enough about other religions to affirm your statement- people hate, not religions. Was it religion that drove the crusades or people? What is religion?Isnt it the leaders of a church that teach us there interpretation of their bible?
    So isnt religion and people the same thing?

    Like

    • Religion isn’t the problem, people are. I kinda thought people would get that bit. I was a Catholic once then was disgusted by it and don’t do Church, Bibles but have kept my relationship with God. I pray every day. And it feels EXACTLY the same. Religion is an expression of the words of a book writen by MAN. Example “No Men shall marry” No mention of woman marrying…So yeah, men wrote the bible…
      How can it be the word of God if man wrote it..
      And if God spoke to whoever wrote all these bibles that have been edited more than my average article then how can we truly take them as gospel/truth?

      I don’t debate hate.
      I have an open mind and my thirst for knowledge is just too big to be closed minded. I am not alone.

      Here is one for you Malcolm..(Love the name)

      Say an Alien man arrives on Earth and meets with all the leaders of the planet. Someone says “Our planet populous has religion and 93% of the populous believe in God through religious teachings” The Alien (I imagine) would reply with “WOW this must be such a calm loving planet and species”

      It is in-fact the total opposite of this. Nobody can disagree, religion, more so the people in religion have WRECKED this World.

      God on the other hand is the truth. If we all just stayed there our planet wouldn’t hate. I don’t know how to hate. People may hate me but it’s one way hate.

      Good comment mate

      Like