Killing Me Softly : Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain Deaths

Standard

I have always loved this saying

I have always loved this saying

By @ShaunyGibson – Used to be @ ShaunyNews Via: Lisa Lorden Myers

Earlier today I did this blog https://acenewsdesk.wordpress.com/2014/12/12/taboo-series-suicide/ and I posted it on my Fibromyalgia and any Chronic issue Facebook page for us all to discuss Chronic Illness, things that don’t kill you, they kill your spirit if you let it. I seen this here and I MUST share this page with YOU who have chronic pain or Fibromyalgia or any or any other “Can’t kill you” chronic Condition here> http://www.cfidsselfhelp.org/library/killing-me-softly-fmcfs-suicide Links and as much info on the “Devils Disease” as I could throw together. Not till I started my Group on Facebook for Chronic Pain/Fibro/Depression, anything Chronic, did I understand the level of suffering in others…

…..I AM NOT ALONE, AS I AM MADE TO FEEL BY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. But hey, that is no happy feeling. Reassuring maybe? Our biggest challenge as sufferers is almost impossible to the point we just say ‘Feck it’ and give up. I don’t want to give up on family/friends who don’t like ‘New Shaun’ because to me they are ‘New Them’ it is totally a 2 way street. I notice people look at me as if I am screwing the Government for money, facts are I receive not ONE PENNY from the Government. The only message I want to get through to my loved ones is “This is why I am in bed, this is why I am in a lot, this is why I don’t visit” and once we get past that we can all smile, love, have fun and move the FECK ON! I speak for many (And I tagged a few in here when posting) when I say this, all we want is UNDERSTANDING. Then we can all move on, simple really. But we see things that may not be there, we feel things that may not be there. But to define this is to define Fibro. Fibro is new, not many people know about it, not many who live in pain know they have it. STRESS = PAIN as well as other things with Fibro/CPS, I know in America for example you guys pay for EVERYTHING and that is wrong. Here in Scotland EVERYTHING Health related is free. Now Scotland has greater powers it will only get better. Seeing your Dr is Free, All your Medication is free, Hospital visits be them arranged or not are free, X-Rays and ALL operations are free. I could not survive in a country anywhere where the stress of not knowing all of the above was covered so it must be murder for you guys. My heart goes out to you all 

In Scotland  they grade you 1 to 10…You get asked 100 questions in a book you take home, each question is 1 – good or 10 – DEAD (I am joking, 10 is the worst) I am 10, do you know your score? Try it below

PLEASE SHARE YOUR RESULTS IN THE BLOG AND ON MY PAGE ALSO, IT HELPS US ALL!! http://www.anapsid.org/cnd/diagnosis/berne.html

Via Hunter Medicare Local on You Tube – Official Scottish Video from our NHS (National Health Service)
PLEASE GIVE THIS A WATCH PEEPS..IT ‘WILL’ HELP. Ask your partner, parents, family, friends etc to watch also.
Understanding Pain: What to do about it in less than five minutes?

44

Knowing the signs are crucial, if we can save one life this article and you reading it was worth it

 

Fibromyalgia-its-symptoms-and-causes

photo_libraryBy Lisa Lorden Myers


Note: Lisa Lorden Myers, a CFS/fibromyalgia patient from California, is a well-known writer. For three years, she was the Guide to Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia at About.com. This article was originally published in Fibromyalgia Frontiers, the journal of the National Fibromyalgia Partnership. Lisa now runs the website
Living with CFS & Fibromyalgia.

422976aa4412c9854ab428e34e438a38

WE ALL HAVE THESE DAYS

On August 15, 1996, Dr. Jack Kevorkian reportedly assisted in the suicide of Judith Curren, 42, of Pembroke, Massachusetts. She suffered from chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) and fibromyalgia (FM). Jan Murphy, another FM sufferer, also turned to Kevorkian for help; ABCNews.com later reported her assisted suicide in the summer of 1997. A recently publicized investigation in the UK revealed that just last year, Julia Revill, age 58, hanged herself outside her family home after becoming frustrated at a lack of medical help for her Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME). ME is the name used abroad for chronic fatigue syndrome. She had shown some improvement after treatment at the UK’s only ME hospital in Essex but had been refused funding by the local health authority for further treatment there, and her condition deteriorated. The loss of “one of our own” always hits hard. These and other reports sent shock waves through the FM/CFS community. Patients with fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome have an exquisite understanding of the pain, both physical pain and emotional anguish, associated with having a poorly understood, incurable disease. “When you start hearing there is no hope, no treatment, and no cure over and over, you lose your will to fight,” wrote Jan Murphy in a eulogy read at her funeral. “What most people saw of me was a shell of what was going on inside.” The FM/CFS community is certainly not alone in addressing the problem of suicide. Each year, about 30,000 people in the United States take their own lives. It is the 11th leading cause of death in our country and accounts for about 1.5% of all deaths in the US.

Suicide and FM/CFS

It is unclear whether there is an increased risk of suicide among FM/CFS patients, as compared to the general population. In 2006, Leonard Jason and colleagues published a study analyzing a memorial list maintained by the National CFIDS Foundation. They reported that suicide was one of the three leading causes of death in the sample, along with heart disease and cancer. The researchers noted several limitations to the study, including uncertainty about whether the list was representative of people with CFS and concluded “clearly, it is not possible to generalize the data from this memorial list to the overall population of patients with CFS.”

b673c6fd45b37da511f5ba526de38ea1

The truth I just know hurts us all, Family who get angry with us…

However, there is evidence that chronic pain and illness put patients at risk for suicide. An illness like fibromyalgia or chronic fatigue syndrome, which is often doubted or neglected by the medical community, the public, and sometimes family and friends, can present unique problems. Patients with FM/CFS can become victims of isolation and despair. Secondary depression is a well-known symptom of FM/CFS and is common with any type of chronic pain. Sufferers depend on a variety of sources of support, including pain management, psychological support, and financial support. When one of these essential needs remains unmet over a long period of time, it is possible for patients to begin to believe that their situation is hopeless. In fact, a recent report published by Action for ME, a UK non-profit organization, revealed that 51% of survey respondents have felt suicidal as a result of their illness. Those with the most severe cases of the illness and who received delayed diagnosis and management were most likely to have considered suicide.

Responding to Suicidal Thoughts

How we feel..

How we feel..

Martha Ainsworth, founder and director of Metanoia, a non-profit organization dedicated to suicide prevention, describes the problem of suicide succinctly. She writes, “Suicide happens when pain exceeds resources for coping with pain.” There are many kinds of pain that may lead to suicide, and individuals vary greatly in their capacity to withstand pain. According to Ainsworth, you can survive suicidal feelings if you do either of two things: (1) find a way to reduce your pain, or (2) find a way to increase your coping resources. Both are possible. It is important to realize that suicide is a permanent solution to a temporary problem. The Journal of the American Medical Association has reported that 95% of all suicides occur at the peak of a depressive episode. For many people who feel suicidal, there seems to be no other way out. But suicidal thoughts are typically a reflection of distorted thinking caused by severe depression or even by the neurological changes associated with FM/CFS itself. When we are depressed, we tend to see things through the very narrow perspective of the present moment. A week or a month later, things may look completely different.

Warning Signs of Suicide

  • Talking or joking about suicide or statements about being reunited with a deceased loved one

  • Making statements about hopelessness, helplessness, or worthlessness (“Life is useless” or “Everyone would be better off without me.”)

  • Preoccupation with death (recurrent death themes in music, literature, or drawings)

  • Appearing suddenly happier or calmer

  • Loss of interest in things one cares about

  • Unusual visiting or calling people one cares about (saying good-byes)

  • Giving possessions away, making arrangements, or settling one’s affairs

  • Self-destructive or risk-taking behavior (alcohol/drug abuse, reckless driving, self-injury or mutilation)

download

WE ‘ALL’ GET THIS…

f64e3cc047da687097da0ba189b169aa

LOL..So true

Most people who once thought about killing themselves are now glad to be alive. They say they didn’t want to end their lives – they just wanted to stop the pain. According to Dr. William Collinge, Ph.D., author of several books including Recovering from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, “If you can remind yourself that the suicidal thoughts or feelings are transitory and symptomatic of the illness, this will help you get through those times when you are in the bottom of the pits and can’t see any way out. Also, talking about your feelings with a confidant or loved one can help immeasurably.”Experts agree that talking about suicidal feelings is one of the most important things you can do. Talking to a caring and supportive friend or family member can be helpful, and there are a variety of helplines and support groups to whom people who are feeling suicidal can reach out. Severe depression, the primary cause of suicide, is highly treatable. If depression is recognized and treated, many suicides can be prevented. Anyone who has suffered with fibromyalgia or chronic fatigue syndrome knows that it requires a huge adjustment, not only to the illness itself but to all the consequences it has on our lives. Chronic illness is likely to affect the way sufferers live, the way they see themselves, and how they relate to others. With the present state of world events, many people are feeling additional tension, anxiety, or sadness. But suffering with severe depression may be unnecessary. If you or someone you know is having thoughts of suicide, it’s essential that you know you don’t have to go it alone. Suicide is preventable, and there are a variety of resources that can provide the support you need.

FAMILY/FRINDS/FIBRO/CPS – http://www.cfidsselfhelp.org/library/topic/Family+%2526+Friends

http://scopeblog.stanford.edu/2013/08/13/fibromyalgia-living-with-a-controversial-chronic-disease/

http://www.cfidsselfhelp.org/library/topic/Treatment+Options

http://www.cfidsselfhelp.org/library/killing-me-softly-fmcfs-suicide

http://www.patient.co.uk/forums/discuss/do-i-have-fibromyalgia-syndrome-257094

~~
Join Ace News Facebook pages: https://www.facebook.com/groups/acenewsservices/
ShaunyNews: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Shaunynews/
Living With Fibromyalgia: https://www.facebook.com/groups/699321140156812/
Scotland: https://www.facebook.com/groups/scot2.scot/
Celtic FC: http://thecelticnetwork.com/
~~

 

4 responses

  1. I like the article. The video seems to be saying though, our pain can be treated and eventually abolished. My understanding of FM is it is here to stay. We can exercise, eat better, and get medical treatments, but it is always going to be a part of our life. If I stand back from this video and look at it from the perspective of a partner or friend, I would think: “Ok, so if you take care of yourself, exercise, eat better, you will be cured!” Just my take on the vid. Thanks for sharing the article.

    Like

  2. Mate that is awesome you yourself know part of my story well as you were there. Growing up wasn’t great but I battled and in my mind won. Being bullied is the worst thing in the world child or adult and being blessed with scars and alterations is something others find hard too cope with.
    School was tough nearly as tough as walking to the local Co op (store), at 15 and a half I joined the British army as it was something I always wanted too do. Boy was that a challange but I passed out from basic went to regiment and fought for my fellow man queen and country. I have seen people blown up meters away from me shot people and dealt with trauma injuries in other from gun shot wounds too loss of limbs. At 23 I had my 4 but of meningitis and battled and recouped well and bk too full military service. Back me a nurse on leaving the army and got married and started producing awesome kids. On contracting an respitory infection it was found that there was severe damage to my periferal nervous system and I was diagnosed with fybromyralga. 50+ maxi facial operations,4 bouts various meningitis, and nerve damage resulting in fybromyralga. Still fighting and still doing as you know I don’t need or want sympathy but understanding would be ace !!! My inner peace and happiness close friends and family keep me going and our chats and times in each other company help greatly. I do not change but mould my being to suite the situation. My parents truly don’t understand and the wider family don’t have a clue. My wife understands too a point and my kids just see dad.
    We are fighters and adapters doing what’s needed regardless to the best of our ability, letting this and it’s associated evils winning isn’t an option for me what so ever . I am me accept it and move on is my mental state since I was 14 years old and it works those that don’t aren’t worthy. I as you know will help and assist anyone in any way I can and this is me.

    Awesome writing my friend and i/we love you for your honesty and opinion .

    Liked by 1 person

    • WOW, you moved me man..We have known each other from before puberty. Just wee boys. I seen ‘Brian’ I liked ‘Brian’ I could never wrap my head around the shit from a very small minority of “Tough guys” in the street..Way I see it Brian is you and I are living breathing testament that we became better than them…They are all junkies and poor dick heads these days. Not a digit of dignity even today, Our Friend “Mr Anderson” …Feel like I am in the Matrix…lol..Is one such person who will say things on a PC after you move to England. You beat them all with the opposite of what you are perceived to be. For that reason, we are still friends and will stay friends..Earning respect we are the same… Fighters

      Liked by 1 person